Question marks

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'” Peter Maher, Canadian marathon runner

Today I embark on a 12-week training climb toward a race distance I’ve been eyeing for almost a year now: the half marathon. Until now, this rookie runner has been too chicken to tackle that distance.

It’s not so much the higher mileage I’ve been fearing, I think. It’s myself. Example: before running a 5K race recently, I put so much pressure on myself to PR that I thought I would throw up beforehand. I made myself sick with the fear of failing my own self-imposed, arbitrary standards. What’s the deal with that? Isn’t this supposed to be fun, not nerve wracking?

In anticipation of this tightly-wound version of myself, I’ve kind of been slacking on my running the past two weeks or so. I’ve been telling the big question mark, Yes, I’m going to be a wimp today. Wondering if the goal I hold so dear will be poisoned by such pressure makes me want to shut down, to pull back a little. As much as I love using races for motivation, I have to consider that pieces of my personality threaten to suck all the enjoyment out of it. That’s the last thing I want.

To help remedy this, I’m not imposing any kind of time goal for this half marathon. I would just like to finish. And I would like to have fun. So for this time around, my training will be kind of laid back: two easy-ish runs, one moderate run, one long run and two cross training days per week.

For me, the motivation to run is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, “Are you going to be obligated or are you going to be passionate today?” I prefer the latter.

4 thoughts on “Question marks

  1. This time of year, I do most of my runs indoors on a treadmill. Which a lot of people would say is an inferior way to train, but I just can’t brave the heat! I will most likely do long runs outside but very early in the morning.

  2. I’ve already signed up for 2 halfs and 2 marathons between now and next April. I’m super stoked. Don’t spend one second worrying about times and records and things like that. Just…run. And smile. And enjoy. Say hello to everyone on the road. Trust me on this. Also: drink water.

Leave a comment